Sexism and the CFL

Look, I’m not new here.  I get that football is a male dominated sport and that some teams like Toronto and Hamilton have an amazing rivalry going.  I get the good-natured ribbing that goes on between the fans of the two teams.  I do, however, expect players to rise above some of the more juvenile fan chants.  I am vacillating between rage, disgust and disbelief at the fact that a player such as Avon Cobourne would retweet something as sexist and insulting towards women as this

The offending tweet

I get that fans can be sexist jerks.  I expect much better from CFL players.  It’s not funny.  It’s insulting to women as whole and to the dedicated ladies on the Argos cheer team in particular.     I’m hoping that someone either from the team or from the league (or both) will sit down and have a very serious talk with Mr. Cobourne about the implications of retweeting something.  The guiding principle on twitter should be “would I say this to someone standing in front of me?”  if the answer is no, then you shouldn’t retweet.  It’s that simple.

About koalateagirl

I am a BlackBerry addict and proud supporter of the CFL. I am also a Girl Guide leader, tutor and advocate for special needs kids,and honourary aunt to a gaggle of kids. I write and edit for a living. I love gadgets and technology and am a proud member of the BlackBerry Elite Social Media fans program and the YMC Community.
This entry was posted in Sports and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

